Riding Velothon Wales 2017

​Over the last couple of years a number of family and friends have been affected by cancer and a friend I have had the good fortune to work with is living with Motor Neurone Disease. 

As a fifty-three year-old with nothing worse than a dodgy knee and a beer belly I realise how lucky I am so I trying to raise some cash for Cancer Research and MNDA, two charities that do research into finding a cure for these dreadful diseases and also for CLIC Sargent who which help provide care and support for children with cancer. 
I’ve entered the 140km 2017 Velothon Wales with the aim of finishing it in under five hours. At the moment the furthest I’ve ridden is 70km in four hours so I need to twice the distance (throwing in a category 2 climb for fun) in half the time. 
If you want to follow my progress as I prepare for the event and to see me at least half kill myself on a bike (I fell off twice today so there’s a fair chance) and more importantly if you want to help me raise some money for these excellent charities by donating and also by sharing what I’m doing with others then please click on the links below to read my blog and to donate something, anything (every penny gratefully received) towards my effort
Between now and July I will be posting updates on my progress – so please share (and donate if you want) and help me raise my targets.
https://www.justgiving.com/teams/GarethJonesVelothon

Leave a comment